Center for Electoral Forensics

Bashir and Sudan

[Flag of Sudan]The Republic of the Sudan is a one-party dominant State. According to the constitution, the Sudanese Presidency has a five-year term, with no restrictions on re-elections. President Omar al-Bashir became the seventh president of Sudan in 1989. Today, he stands for his fourth election.

What are his chances of winning?

[Omar al-Bashir]

Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir

Omar al-Bashir came to power in Sudan back in 1989, when he led a coup d'état against democratically-elected Prime Minister Sadiq al-Mahdi. From 1989 until today, he has led Sudan through many crises. These include the end of the Cold War, several famines, the fighting in Darfur, the civil war with the south, and the loss of South Sudan. Throughout it all, he continues to be re-elected to his post.

As head of the National Congress party (NCP), he leads the most powerful party in the State. It controls 316 of the 354 seats in the lower house, the National Assembly of Sudan, and all non-Southern seats in the Council of States, the upper house.

Omar al-Bashir has weathered many storms in office. As the International Criminal Court indicted him for his efforts in Darfur, Bashir is unable to freely travel throughout the world. Were he to visit the wrong place, he would be arrested and taken to The Hague to face the charges against him.

He enjoys much support from the electorate. In the 2010 election, Bashir received over 68% of the votes counted. His closest competitor, Yasir Arman, represented the Sudan People's Liberation Movement (SPLM), which is a South Sudan-based political party that will not contest these 2015 elections.

Source: Reuters / YouTube

In fact, Bashir is running without any real competition. This is either a sign that he enjoys large levels of support or that the opposition realizes the election is unfair against them. Or both.

The voting runs from April 13 until April 15. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, Omar al-Bashir will continue being the President of the Republic of Sudan.

Oversight: National Electoral Commission (NEC)
Election: Presidency
National Assembly
Dates: April 11 to 13, 2015

Leave a Reply